Administrator Login Here

Administrator Login Form


TODO supply a title
Welcome to Tmbu


तिलका मांझी भागलपुर विश्वविद्यालय


The Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University, also known as Bhagalpur University, is a premier institution for providing higher education in the state of Bihar. The university is situated in Bhagalpur town of Bihar State in India and is named after famous freedom fighter Tilka Manjhi. Established on 12 July 1960, it is a public university sprawled within 264 acres of lush green campus ideal for teaching and learning. The university has 9 Faculties, 36 Teaching Departments, 5 Research Centres and 30 Constituent Colleges, besides affiliated to it 24 Colleges and 15 B.Ed. Colleges.

The university harbours a sound academic ambience with its highly qualified and dedicated faculty staff to provide quality teaching and research in various disciplines of humanities, arts, social sciences and modern science. Great scientists of international repute like Prof. K.S. Bilgrami, Prof. J.S Datta Munshi and the famous poet and writer Padma Vibhshan Shri Ramdhari Singh Dinkar have served this university in various capacities.

Education is a powerful tool to drive societal transformation and to build advanced knowledge society to meet the challenges of 21st century.

  • Quality, access, equity and accountability are the four pillars of knowledge revolution.
  • Generation, acquisition, possession and application of knowledge serve as foundation for building a strong and developed information society.
  • Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University aspires to become India’s most energetic and responsive university to produce highly skilled graduates and post graduates, to make them a scholarly community in Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Modern Science with full competence in their chosen professions, and also individuals of high character, probity and honour who would preserve and foster the cultural heritage of India.

Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University strives hard to explore for knowledge and wisdom, to achieve excellence in higher education, to emerge as a premier university of the country at par with the best universities of the world in terms of programmes offering, curriculum framework, facilitating accessible and affordable quality education to attain affirmative mindset and to develop scholarly, intellectual and professional skills among the students who can serve as responsible citizens of the global community, imbibing human values.

  • The university tends to accomplish status of quality research-intensive university addressing regional and national needs by having integration with other premier teaching and research institutions.
  • It tends to discover, integrate, contribute and apply knowledge towards societal and community development
  • The university would employ the strategy of proactive management of administration with high quality governance with efficiency, transparency and accountability.



Hon´ble Vice Chancellor Prof. R. S. Dubey
Pro-Vice Chancellor Prof. A. K. Roy
Registrar Prof. G. Mustafa
CCDC Prof. A. K. Mishra


Year of Establishment: 12th July,1960
Change of Name: Name Changed from
Bhagalpur University to
Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur
University in 1991
Main Campus Area: 264 Acres
University Departments: 36
Name of Faculties: Faculty of Humanities
Faculty of Social Sciences
Faculty Of Science
Faculty Of Commerce
Faculty Of Engineering
Faculty of Medical Sciences
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Education
Self Financing Courses: 04
Constituent Colleges: 29
Affiliated Colleges Govt. Funded: 24
Research Institute/Centers: 05
University Centre Of Bioinformatics
Regional Study Centre
Agro-Economic Research Centre
Sarat Chandra Research Centre
Maharshi Mehi Sant Sahitya Sodh-Peeth

No. Of Academic Programmes:

Post Graduate : 36
Certificate Course : 05
Diploma Courses : 07
P.G. Diploma : 01
Ph.D. : 01

Self Financing Courses:

Programme Level of Study Cut off Marks at
entry level in
MBA Masters 55% 60
MCA Masters 50% 60
M.Sc.(Biotech) Masters 55% 24
M.Sc.( Analytical
Chemistry in
Industry &
Masters 55% 16

No. of Students:

Category Intermediate Others Total
Boys 25928 17956 43884
Girls 8506 8437 16943
Total 34434 26393 60827

No. of Teachers :

Designation University Department Constituent Colleges Affiliated Colleges Total
Principal - 29 - 29
University Professor 67 148 - 215
University Reader 57 292 - 349
University Lecturer 48 579 - 627
Total 172 1048 - 1220

Books In Library: 1,40,000

Journal/Periodicals Subscribed by Library:

National : 123
International : 2
Computer Centre Centralized with 30 Computers

Collaborative Researches are being done with the following Institutions:

Institution-Specific Innovations:

source:TMBU website (as on 23.08.2015)